Still Digging Out

Since my last post, almost 2 weeks, it seems, not a lot has been going on.  As you may know (or have heard) we got a second blizzard right after that first blizzard.  I ended up with a week and a day off of work!  Now, at first glance, this seems like an amazing opportunity, right?  Who can complain about a paid week off? 

Well, I can.  See, one or two snow days are cute.  And the snow days where there’s just enough snow to close work, but not enough to trap you inside for days?  Those are nice too.  Mostly, I was trapped.  Alone.  My husband had to go to work most of the days, for at least part of the day.  He has a Wrangler.  He could (sort of) get around.  My poor little rabbit was not going anywhere.  And so, you’d think that having all this free time you would get SO MUCH done.  Well.  All I got done was a lot of eating (junk), and a lot of lying around.  I was in this weird hibernation mode, and from what I’ve heard, I’m not the only one.  I got just a teensy bit of sewing done in the grand scheme of things.  I did clean the bathroom and the kitchen.  But that’s about it, aside from the shoveling and the shoveling and the shoveling.

My dear sweet husband told me that I shouldn’t have to shovel, that it wasn’t my job.  And you know, I’m not going to argue with that!  But this was too much snow to allow him to shovel all on his own, and he still had to go to work, too!

Ok.  I’m sorry for complaining.  But for all the people who are jealous that I got all that time off, well, please know that it wasn’t all it was cracked up to be.

(after the second snow, and that area by my car is only clear cause we dug out the day before.  and it was windy so the snow was blowing instead of landing in that little area)

I did finish piecing that baby quilt I mentioned.  And I even got a back made using the leftover pieces.  I had some batting on hand, too.  So I tried to baste it all up and quilt it.  I hate straight line quilting.  I can’t seem to get it right.  I don’t know if it’s my machine/foot combo, or my impatience, or the cheap batting, though I’m sure it has at least a little to with my poor idea of basting.  So, I’m ripping it all out, and getting better batting, and starting the quilting over again after a more thorough round of basting.

In other news, we’re on a major money-saving, debt-paying-off cycle, so I’m really intent to use what I have fabric wise.  I’m not saying no new fabric, but I need to make a major effort at using what I have before purchasing anything else.  I think it’s kind of fun actually!

Explore posts in the same categories: General

3 Comments on “Still Digging Out”

  1. Danielle Says:

    I just found your blog, love the Heather Ross quilt! I have some Far Far Away that I have yet to cut into, what am I waiting for? Anyway, your pup is adorable, and I have a dog named Murphy too! ( a brindle boxer… )

  2. Valerie Says:

    Oh that is a lot of snow! I hope you get more sewing done because that always makes me feel better. I love getting out of debt. It changes your life.

  3. Dorrie Says:

    Yes, I think a week of being house-bound would drive me nutso too! My gosh, that’s a lot of snow! Sewing always makes me feel better. . .and I hear you about using the fabrics I have. . .it’s almost embarrassing.


Leave a Reply

