Snow & Shoveling, Squares & Sewing

Well, if you have heard, we’ve had a blizzard here in Maryland.  It started snowing mid day yesterday, and finally stopped earlier this evening.  They even closed the University yesterday, so I got a snow day!  It seemed silly at first, but things really started to get bad around 4 or 5, so it was probably best, and I’m certainly not complaining.

These are various pictures of our snow day.  Including a picture of the path Murphy made for himself, and a gigantic snowman my neighbors erected while drinking their beers.

My husband managed to do some shoveling throughout the storm in an attempt to keep up with it, but the snow was coming down so quickly that it was a lost cause.  He tries to spare me the shoveling, which I really appreciate, but this was just too ridiculous to manage on his own.  We went out to try and dig out the cars after it finally stopped.  We at least got his jeep mostly free (not counting the 4 foot snow pile at the base of our driveway.  My car was not so lucky.

Anyway.  We’re snowed in.  But we still have power.  The winds were mighty gusty last night and this morning.  Many of the surrounding neighborhoods are spending their days and nights without electricity.  And lucky for us too, Murphy loves the snow!  It’s too deep for him to manage now–I haven’t measured but I’m sure it’s more than 20 inches, and probably over 30 in some places where it’s drifted.  I uploaded my first youtube video today of Murphy running through the snow before it got too deep.

Being snowed in gave me the luxury of some sewing time.  I think I mentioned the Anna Maria Horner fabric project I was working on?

Here is the progress on my crappy (yet functional) design wall. This isn’t necessarily the final layout in progress, but I’m trying to figure out placement, etc.  You know.  I am really liking it!  It will be small, 36×36 finished.  And I don’t know if it’s for a girl or a boy yet, but I think it can go either way.  Of course there are several floral prints, but the colors are masculine enough that I don’t think it will mater.  And I think that the mother will like the fabrics regardless.  What do babies care anyway, right?

I’m getting more in the swing of sewing again, but it’s hard to find time, especially on the weeknights.  With Murphy being around, I hate to have him locked up in the crate after he’s been cooped up all day, and we can’t leave him unattended for more than a few moments.  We’ve given him a rawhide bone for the first time, and it’s a huge hit.  And it gives us a few extra moments peace!  I’m not really thrilled about the rawhide, but we’re keeping a close eye, and he just makes it all gross and gummy, and then we take it away.  Yuck!

So, that’s my weekend so far.  I think that the majority of the day tomorrow will be spent shoveling this god awful snow.  Send a little wish that Monday is a snow day!  And speaking of snow days, I heard we might get another 5 inches on Tuesday…what is going on, Maryland?

Explore posts in the same categories: General

One Comment on “Snow & Shoveling, Squares & Sewing”

  1. Heidi Says:

    I’m a little jealous.. I love that feeling of being snowbound while a storm is blowing outside. And all that guilt free sewing time!

    Stay warm!


Leave a Reply

