Maybe I’m not a Total Idiot

I discovered something this afternoon.  I was working on a block my quilting bee quilt.  And my block was not coming out to the 12.5″ it was supposed to be when finished.  And this doesn’t make sense to me because I KNOW I cut everything perfectly.  I was even being super duper extra careful with my cuts and calculations.  Now, this has happened before, that I’ve cut things properly and they didn’t finish up the correct size, but I just blamed it on myself for being a lazy cutter and assumed that this is where the error had been made.

Today though, I learned that while I can be a lazy cutter, this is not always the case.  It seems that those times that I’ve blamed things on my lazy cutting or bad math when I was sure I did everything correctly?  Well, maybe I WAS cutting things correctly.

Now, what I’m about to tell you is still my fault, but it isn’t really entirely my fault.     My 1/4″ quilting foot is the culprit.  The quilting foot that is not really 1/4″.  Or, it is, but it isn’t when it’s on my machine with my needle!  And this is why I am typically coming up 1/4″ short on things.  It’s almost a perfect 1/8″ off.  This is really frustrating!  This is also, in a way, pleasing, because it obviously means that my cutting isn’t always so bad.  And yes, I should have noticed this before.  And yes, this is still my fault.  Except not entirely.  And yes, it is still due to my laziness seeing as how I never investigated things further.  But at least I can stop being so hard on my cutting skills.

So, my solution?  Get a new machine AND a new foot!  Ha.  Just kidding.  I wish.  My solution is to follow the little notch that is there on the plate (why I’ve been ignoring it is beyond me).  And maybe just abandoning the quilting foot now.  What’s the point if it isn’t helping me with measuring my seams, right?

In other news, I’ve got all the fabrics packed up and ready to go off to be made into beautiful blocks by other people.  They’ll be going in the mail tomorrow.  It’s about time, right?  I can’t wait to see what comes back!

I’d show you a picture, but I still don’t have a battery charger for my stupid camera.  This is the downfall of rechargeable batteries, right?  If I did, I’d also show you a picture of the block I’ve made up for this quilting bee quilt.  I think that’s what I’ll be piddling around with for a while.  What I wouldn’t show you though, is a picture of a top secret project I’m working on!  You’ll all have to wait for that.  So don’t go asking any questions!

Explore posts in the same categories: General

3 Comments on “Maybe I’m not a Total Idiot”

  1. Angie Says:

    I wish that I could figure out what is wrong with my cutting sewing?! My blocks tend to be about an 1/8 off. Very frustrating.

  2. Nichole Says:

    that IS really frustrating! i most certainly would have assumed that my 1/4″ foot would actually sew a 1/4″ seam as well. on your sewing machine, can you shift your needle over and just use the standard foot? that is what i do because i’m too lazy to change to the 1/4″ foot. 🙂

    i’m looking forward to receiving your fabric for the bee! these blocks should be fun!

  3. Dorrie Says:

    My Janome’s 1/4″ foot was inaccurate. I had my jewelry-making brother-in-law remove the guide and solder it to stabilize it. It was so frustrating.


Leave a Reply

