A Finish!

I actually finished something.  It’s a miracle!  No, seriously, it is a miracle.  The puppy has put a serious dent in my in front of the TV sewing binding time.  Basically, he’s made it impossible.  Unless I can feel not guilty about leaving him in the crate for the duration of a movie (and can convince the Mr. to watch one with me!).  I may have mentioned way back when a quilt I was making for my dear sister.  I had finally cut into my Heather Ross Mendocino fabrics, and came up with a pretty simple design.  By her birthday (at Thanksgiving time) I had it all put together and quilted, and just need to finish up the hand sewing part.  Which I just finished Saturday while watching (500) Days of Summer.  So, the quilt is off to her, and I didn’t take any pictures because I can’t find the charger for my camera battery and just wanted it gone already.  Hopefully she gets a chance to take some so I can post them here soon.  Until then, you’ll just have to forgive the lack of pictures. 

In other news, the Hope Valley has arrived and it is even better in person.  I’ve been practicing some block construction on some different fabrics so I can estimate how much fabric to send each girl in the Bee.  I don’t want to under do it, but I don’t want to over do it either.  This block within blocks (or whatever you want to call it), Is not hard to do.  In fact, it is rather easy.  Until you come to the part where you’re doing your last border and you keep cutting everything 1/4″ too short.  I’m not sure what’s wrong with me.  I think it’s because I’m trying to be stingy with the fabric I’m using because I don’t have too much of it.  But because I keep making mistakes, I’m not really saving myself any trouble, or fabric, so, I need to just loosen it up! 

I’ll have those fabrics out by the end of the week.  If the solids haven’t come in in the next day or so, we’ll just do without for this portion of the project. 

In other news, unrelated to sewing, check out Hotspur.  Up and coming DC area band.  Catchy tunes.  Fun to listen to.  Talented guys.  Nice, too, from what I hear.  They’re playing a few shows coming up, including the 9:30 Club on February 5.  Which is cool.  Really cool.  I love the 9:30 club.  I’ve spent a lot of time there in my youth, and even now when I go and I’m the oldest person there except for the parents hanging around, I love it.  But anyway.  Hotspur.  Check them out.  Support local music!  Or, if you aren’t local, support DC music!

Explore posts in the same categories: General

One Comment on “A Finish!”

  1. Angie Says:

    I’m assuming that you are cutting your fabrics a certain size ahead of time. For the squares in squares, I generally just have a long strip of fabric, sew, then cut. Never too short that way. Does that make sense?


Leave a Reply

