Finding time.

How do you find the time to do what you want to do and the time to do what you need to do, and the time to do what you have to do?  I have a hard time reconciling it all really, and I’m just part of a household with myself and husband and 2 cats.  I can’t even imagine what’s it’s like if you start adding babies into that.

I tend to get locked into weird little chambers of immobility when faced with all the things on my various lists.  Obviously there are some things that must happen, like going to work every day.  But then there are the things that should happen: exercising, cooking dinner, laundry, vaccuuming, etc.  And then there are the things that I’d like to happen: sewing, shopping, watching some tv or a movie, going out with my friends, taking trips here and there.  Sometimes I find it really hard to walk away from the sewing machine to do some laundry.  Some days I can’t justify abandoning the housework for other things that are more fun.  It really stinks!

So, here’s what I’ve started to do: Every day I decide on a few things that must happen.  The number of things varies based on length and difficulty of task.  I write down those few things, make a breif plan of  attack, and then decide that if those few things are the only things I get done, I’ll be ok with that.  I won’t beat myself up over the things I didn’t get to do.  For example, I’ve been trying really hard to start this C25K thing, and so on Wednesday I told myself that the only thing I needed to do was a load of laundry and to do the running thing.  So, I did those two things.  Since I was good with the exercise (definitely NOT my strong point), my reward was to be able to spend the rest of the evening doing whatever I wanted whether it be sewing, or vaccuuming, or watching TV.  Last night I had to cook dinner, clean the bathroom, and spend an hour cleaning the sewing room. 

I find that having specific tasks keeps me from being overwhelmed, and having goals, completing those goals and then rewarding myself with a clear conscience is really working for me. And to top it all off, I get a lot more done.

Explore posts in the same categories: General

One Comment on “Finding time.”

  1. Heidi Says:

    I have the same problem!! And this is how I opperate too. I tell myself things that must get done before I’ll let myself do the things that I want to do. It works when I do it.


Leave a Reply

