Making Old Things New

As you may or may not know, I’ve been aquiring furniture and other cast offs from my parents’ former home.  They have moved into a new house, fully furnished, and with the means to buy whatever new stuff they want, so I’m taking the things they no longer want and are too nice to just let go.  One of these acquisitions is the dining room table and chairs that used to belong to my great grandmother.  It was in her house for many years, and then my parents took it and it was our family dinner table for quite a while.

 

DSCN1399It does not suit their new home so much, but really couldn’t be let go, so we took it on here.  The chairs were in need of some tlc, as you can see  here in this picture.  A while ago we got some samples and picked out some new fabric to cover them with, and it’s been sitting in the closet ever since.  I’ve been scared of the project.  It was intimidating to me.  But, as it turns out, it isn’t so hard.  The to-do list today consisted of seeing if I had the proper supplies (batting) to make it happen.  I found a large scrap, and started cutting.  And I just kept going.  I have no idea if i did these correctly, or if they’ll last, or what, but it worked out.  

All I did was cut a piece of batting the size of the seat top, and a piece of fabric about 2 inches wider/longer than the seat, and started stapling.  Corners were slightly tricky, but they don’t even really show, so whatever.  Aside from a glitch with finding extra staples, it went rather quickly, and I was able to do 5 chairs in about one and a half hours.  

I’m very happy with them.  What do you think?

DSCN1398

(by the way, fabric is Vicki Payne For Your Home Foliage Cherry…. It’s looking kinda orange here to me, but it’s definitely more red)

Explore posts in the same categories: General

2 Comments on “Making Old Things New”

  1. Dorrie Says:

    I love them. . .I’m at a point similar to this too. My mom just purchased a new dining table set, but I couldn’t bear the thought of her getting rid of the older set~it was a wedding gift in 1958 when she and my dad married. So I have this set, and it needs new fabric for the chairs~You’ve inspired me~Thanks!

  2. melissa Says:

    i did the same to my dining room chairs, love your fabric choice.


Leave a Reply

