Holiday Weekend Goings On.

I had a rather nice holiday weekend.  I stuck to the whole doing what I want idea, and got a few things done.  Of course, now that I’m sitting on the other side of that, I’m wishing I had done more housework.  Oh well!

I finished the zig zag quilt.  It turned out rather nicely, I think.  I think you can kind of see the stitching.  I think I mentioned it before, but as a recap, I stitched in the ditch diagonally in one direction, and then stitched straight lines on both sides of that the width of the walking foot.  I really like the straight lines, and they work really well with the pattern.

zig zag

I also worked on the quilting bee block.  I’m not sure how I feel about it entirely.  It ended up being really tricky.  I’m inclined to just send it off, but I’m thinking that since it’s still a bit early and I have some time, I’m gonna think on it a little more.  Here is a picture of it in all it’s glory.  Meagan asked for a 12.5×12.5 block of squares, none larger than 3 inches.  

september bee block

What do you think?  I really love the colors, and this really challenged me.  I also made some mistakes in construction as it turns out, though I didn’t realize/discover those until too late.  I might go to quilter prison if anyone finds out!  Ha.  Anyway, I’m hanging onto it for a little while just to make sure I’m comfortable with it….

That’s it for now.  

Explore posts in the same categories: General

Tags: , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “Holiday Weekend Goings On.”

  1. adrienne Says:

    I like the block for Meagan. I have some sewing/math errors too and a few of ther blocks are rectangles, but I just can’t seem to get them to be squares and stretch to 12.5″. In the grand scheme, I think we’ll be fine. =]

  2. Anna F. Says:

    I agree with Adrienne. I like the block, it will look good with all of the others. I think the math on mine was ok, but it was my sewing that made it slightly wonky;)


Leave a Reply

