Almost finished

I’m almost finished quilting the zig zag quilt.  The straight lines have proven not too difficult.  Basically, I “stitched in the ditch” and then made lines on either side the width of the walking foot.  I was going to go back and do the diagonals the opposite way as well, but I think I’m going to stick with what I’ve got.  Another direction would be too busy, and the front is already busy enough I think.  As far as my thoughts on the straight line quilting: I really like it a lot.  It requires a little more precision than the free motion, and that is sometimes hard for me.  I know my lines aren’t perfect either, but I’m deliberately not inspecting them closely.  I give them a quick check to make sure something isn’t glaringly off, and then move on.  Otherwise I’d never get it finished.  I will definitely be doing it again.

Hopefully I’ll finish up the quilting tonight, which means I can get the binding on tonight.  I bought a bias tape maker at Joann’s the other day.  I’m not sure why.  Oh.  Because I’m tired of always burning my fingers and stuff, and hope that maybe this will be helpful.  I got the 1″ one.  I’m not sure that it’ll be wide enough, but the other one was surely TOO wide.  Maybe by this weekend I’ll have a finished quilt!  It’s been a while.  April to be exact.

In other news, I see a fabric buying spree in the near future.  See, my husband has decided to take a motorcycle course and is planning on paying for it out of the savings.  So, it’s only fair I dip in a little bit too, right?  Ha. 

Seriously though, I’ve seen some sales floating around and I want to get a move on some Christmas projects.  I’ve decided, for the fathers and grandfather I am going to make them quilts.  Throw-sized.  Solid colors, biggish solid blocks.  Straight line quilting (more masculine than stippling, yes?) Not sure of the exact patterns yet, but that’s what I’m going to go with.  Do you think that’s a good idea?  I’m already second guessing myself.  But, you know, if they aren’t going to appreciate something that I’ve made for them, well, they can shove it!  How about that?

So, this week, I’m going to pull out my kona color card and make some decisions.  And just go with it.  Because no matter what, even if their quilts are ugly, they’ll still love me.

I’m also finilizing plans for my quilting bee block.  I think I’m almost there.  I keep coming up with ideas, and then realizing I’m missing something, but I think I’ve got a plan, and I’m just going to go for it.  Maybe that’ll happen over the (long!) weekend.

Explore posts in the same categories: General

Tags: , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

