My Name is Theresa, and I’m Addicted to Fabric.

No joke, I think I have a problem.  What is it about the fabric that is so alluring, so captivating to me?  I know I’m not alone in this either, which gives me a little comfort.  But I’m always ordering things, looking at things, purchasing things.  Things with no purpose and no plan.  I haven’t even turned on my sewing machine in five days.  But still, the fabric is coming. 

Not only is the fabric coming, but I’m obsessing over it.  My current obsession is a yard of Amy Butlers Full Moon polka dot in cherry, from the Lotus collection.  I bought it with no plan, but I love it.  I bought it because supposedly, this line will no longer be produced.  I bought it because I had to have it. 

Is there a Fabrics Anonymous anywhere?  I mean, really.  It might appear as though I’m addicted to shopping, but no.  Just shopping for fabric. 

So, this lovely bright fabric is taunting me from the sewing room.  I think about it while I’m laying in bed trying to fall asleep.  What am I going to do with those dots?  Do I save it for just the right thing?  Do I make something to sell with it?  What if I cut it up and ruin it and can’t get anymore of it?  Will I regret it forever?  Will I be haunted by a ruined yard of cherry polka dots?  Will I ever be able to get over it?

Ok.  That got a little dramatic.  It really isn’t all that bad.  But I do think about it at night.  And I think I’ve come up with the perfect solution.  A bag for myself.  Like I need another one.  But, this will be fun, and sort of a year round color scheme, I think. 

Now, I just get to obsess about the lining.  Though I’m really going to try to use something I already have.  I swear.

Explore posts in the same categories: General

Tags: ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

One Comment on “My Name is Theresa, and I’m Addicted to Fabric.”

  1. laura B. Says:

    LOL! I can totally relate to losing sleep over thinking about fabric and my next project! Can’t wait to see how the bag turns out 🙂


Leave a Reply

