Impromptu chair pad, in depth.

So, that chair pad I mentioned in the last post?  It was borne out of necessity.  See, I have a crappy chair in my sewing room.  From our old dining room set.  It’s wood.  Or fake wood.  I don’t know.  It’s not all that comfortable to sit on for long periods of time.  So, that’s the first issue.  The second, more pressing issue, the one that really got this thing going, is that my house is hot.  We can’t afford to keep it as cool as I would like.  The sewing room has a window, which provides a very occasional breeze, but I can’t keep the door open.  Hot irons and straight pins and kittens just don’t mesh well.  The third, in conjunction with the heat factor, is that I’ve been wearing shorts at home, as it’s kind of hot.

You can imagine the discomfort, I assume.  I’m not going to go into detail with that here.

So.  I had some of the squares from the strip piecing, and I had a fat quarter of some fabric that didn’t have  a plan, and I have plenty of batting scraps that seem too big to throw away, but too small for another quilt.  And thus, the chair pad idea was born. 

DSCN0872

It isn’t the neatest thing on the block, or the most perfect, nor is it finished, but I like it.  It was really a lot of fun to just do something like that.  And, I tried out some straight line quilting with the walking foot (I’m only half way done):

DSCN0873

I only quilted through the top and the batting.  I think I’ll put on a smooth back, and stuff it so it’s nice and squishy to sit on.  I also need to figure out the best way to attach it to the chair so I don’t slide off and hurt something.  Maybe I’ll finish it this weekend, if I have some free time.

Explore posts in the same categories: General

Leave a Reply

